You just moved to Smith County, and you have questions about how to adjust to your new life and settle in. We are here to help. Here are some common answers to questions you may have as a resident here.
How do i register to vote in smith county?
In the State of Mississippi, the minimum voting age is 18. You must register at least 30 days prior to any election to be entitled to vote in that election. In order to register, visit the Circuit Clerk's office. You must be a resident of this county and not convicted of any major crime to register to vote. It is helpful to know your 911 address and social security number.
How do I vote Absentee?
You can request a ballot up to 45 days in advance through the mail, or you can visit the Circuit Clerk's office.
How do I obtain a marriage license?
In the State of Mississippi, the responsibility of issuing marriage licenses falls on the county Circuit Clerk. Under state law, to be legally married, both parties must appear before the circuit clerk, provide a government-issued photo ID, and if you are under 21, you must obtain your parent's signature on the registration form. License fees in Smith County are $21.00.
How do I obtain homestead exemption?
Visit the Smith County Tax Assessor's office between January 2 and April 1. Please print off the worksheet on the homepage of this website, fill it out, and bring it with you. It will help you with your homestead exemption application.
How do I register my automobile or trailer?
Car and truck tags are issued by the Smith County Tax Assessor's office. You have 30 working days from the date of purchase to register your vehicle. New residents moving from another state have 30 days to obtain a new plate. It is helpful to bring your automobile registration and/or title. New residents from another county in Mississippi can wait until their next renewal to change plates. Tags are usually valid for a period of one year from the date they are issued.
How do I start my business in smith county?
You will require a tax license to operate a business inside of Smith County. If the business is located inside the city limits, a license will be issued by the city. If the business is outside of the city limits and inside the county, the Smith County Tax Assessor's office will issue your license.
How do I obtain a 911 address?
911 addresses are assigned through the Smith County Emergency Management office. It is helpful to know your nearest street's name (or route number if you live near a County Road) and your nearest neighbors. The Smith County EMA's number is 601-782-9151.
Where do I file a property deed?
Land deeds are filed in the Chancery Clerk's office.